Gabrieli, Lassus, Palestrina, Victoria: Music for Brass Septet 4

‘beautifully intoned’ 
Paul Driver, The Sunday Times

No brass series would be complete without Giovanni Gabrieli, and his music is the starting point as Septura continue on their counterfactual course, imagining that four titans of the counter-reformation had written for brass.

The sacred choral works of these renaissance masters – Victoria, Gabrieli, Palestrina and Lassus – are a perfect fit for the musical and emotional compass of the brass septet, and the result is a stunning survey of the culminations of the Spanish, Venetian, Roman and Franco-Flemish schools.

Full liner notes | Buy now | Sheet music

Tomás Luis de Victoria (c. 1548–1611)
Four Motets (arr. Simon Cox)

Giovanni Gabrieli (c. 1554/1557–1612)
Three Canzonas and Three Motets (arr. Simon Cox)

Giovanni Pierluigi de Palestrina (1532–1594)
Missa Papae Marcelli(arr. Simon Cox)

Orlando de Lassus (1532–1594)
Lagrime di San Pietro (arr. Matthew Knight)